Texas Fishing Forum

Fishing License

Posted By: lakeeire

Fishing License - 05/22/09 03:03 PM

I'm new to Texas and need to know if a license is required if fishing only from the banks?
Posted By: Boudreaux

Re: Fishing License - 05/22/09 03:06 PM

A liscense is required to fish any texas waters. Bank, boat,dock, wade. Any fishing period requires that you have a valid Texas fishing liscense.
Posted By: Wisco Kid

Re: Fishing License - 05/22/09 03:32 PM

Only exception to this rule is if you are fishing from the bank in a state park. No license needed there.
Posted By: EJ2000

Re: Fishing License - 06/03/09 04:32 PM

i would say get your fishing license and you have no worries at all about fishing anywhere in Texas. that is just my opinion... i would not take any chances period. fines can get pretty expensive.
Posted By: lost fisherman

Re: Fishing License - 06/03/09 06:28 PM

Yep, was caught with an expired license couple of weeks ago. Fine depends on county judge. Mine was $109.
Posted By: iamquockie

Re: Fishing License - 06/03/09 08:30 PM

ur lucky, last time I got caught without one it was $205, got caught on september 3rd lol.
Posted By: bigcatter

Re: Fishing License - 06/04/09 12:17 PM

I might be wrong but cant you fish with a cane pole and live bait without a fishing lic.

I would go ahead and get a lic. the money is suppose to go back into a fund to restock lakes and stuff...
Posted By: luvdemslabs

Re: Fishing License - 06/04/09 10:32 PM

bigcatter, alot of rules have changed and the cane pole rule is one of them. My best advice is for anyone that does not have a updated rule book should go to their nearest sporting store and pick up one
Posted By: Siberman

Re: Fishing License - 06/06/09 01:18 AM

Born before 1930 : no license needed.

Under 12 : nope.

Bob Sandlin State Park : no.

"Special Catch" days (for young children and the physically / mentally handicapped on certain lakes at specified times) : no.

Everything else: check "the Book". wink