Texas Fishing Forum

Tying Materials

Posted By: TrentonLee

Tying Materials - 04/09/15 02:02 PM

I am new to the addiction of tying as well as fly fishing and wondered if anyone had any suggestions on where the best place to buy materials may be. I am close to Fort Worth and a buddy of mine uses Backwoods off of W 7th. I am also willing to order online if I know I am going to get good stuff. On somewhat of a budget with a little one on the way. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: Bass_Bustin_Texan

Re: Tying Materials - 04/09/15 03:48 PM

Don't use BPS they are over priced IMO.

I use Caddis Fly Shop a lot. $25 for free shipping. They have just about everything I ever need.

I buy hooks and beads at Allen Fly Fishing. Hooks are free shipping.

I try to key in on free shipping cause I get a few ideas of flies I want to tie and materials I need and it helps to save $5-8 on shipping when only ordering $30 worth.

Feather Emporium has some really nice feathers. Free Shipping.

Feather Craft is where I go when I need specific things....but shipping is $5.95 or $8.95.

Those shipping charges add up when you make 2-3 orders to get what you need or want that month.
Posted By: TrentonLee

Re: Tying Materials - 04/09/15 04:04 PM

Bass_Bustin_Texan thanks for the helpful info
Posted By: Bass_Bustin_Texan

Re: Tying Materials - 04/09/15 04:11 PM

Most companies sell Waspi or Hareline products. After a while you will notice certain brands of certain products you like better.

Also check out Barlow's on Hwy 75. Their hours are short, but they have good stuff. They charge shipping too.
Posted By: Harold Ray

Re: Tying Materials - 04/13/15 02:54 AM

Good quality, large amounts, low prices, good place to buy:

FlyTyersDungeon

Also a good store:

BearsDen

And, another:

J. Stockard

And if you want a good place to learn more about tying:

FlyTyingForum
Posted By: Crazy4oldcars

Re: Tying Materials - 04/14/15 05:11 PM