Texas Fishing Forum

which is best reel for cat fishing?

Posted By: charleswilbourn

which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 06:41 AM

I am totally new to fishing. I have no idea about fishing. I want to get some idea about fishing and I want to be an expert in fishing. Please help me.
Posted By: Monkeypuncher

Re: which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 11:38 AM

My preference is the Abu Garcia 7000 series. 6500 is a solid second choice.
Posted By: Muzzlebrake

Re: which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 12:01 PM

Depends on how you are fishing and what you are fishing for. Bank fishing or boat fishing?
I use spinning equipment for most of my catfishing since I can pitch my bait into tight cover better when after eater blues and channels. Open water drifting or bottom fishing I may use casting reels mostly or a big spincast Zebco 808.
Spinning reels---------Mitchell 300, Shakespear, Shimano and Penn
Casting reels----------CatMax, Diawa, Garcia, Penn, Lews
Spincast---------------Zebco

Lots of stuff to chose from.

Then you have to look at which kind and type of rod to use. All rods are not created equal.
Posted By: G Love

Re: which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 01:58 PM

I haven't met an expert yet, but no advice will help you more than time on the water.

As far as reels, your bread and butter Catfish reel for this part of the country is an Abu Garcia 6500 C3.
Posted By: Capt. Michael Littlejohn

Re: which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 03:22 PM

What kind of Catfishing?

Re: which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 03:48 PM

Time on the water is great, but if you really want to learn, hire a guide who specializes in the fishing you want to pursue.
Posted By: BigPoppa007

Re: which is best reel for cat fishing? - 10/12/17 04:14 PM

I like Shimano Sienna 4000 for channels and Cabelas Salt Striker SBF65 for Big Blues. 7' medium rods for channels and 7'6" or 8' MH for Big Blues.
Posted By: WillieRip