Posted By: steveiam

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/20/17 12:57 AM

Originally Posted By: jmh004
Yup

This^^^^
And as cut bait also-
Posted By: fence

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/20/17 02:47 AM

Live sunfish is about all I fish with. As mentioned above the green sunfish or goggle eye is the best baitfish. They stay lively all night on a hook. They are also slimmer and softer fined. I believe the fish like them better.
Posted By: KyleW

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/20/17 02:52 AM

What's your favorite spot to hook them when fishing them whole? To keep them lively of course. i'm new to live bait fishing usually just cut up some shad but caught a lot of bluegill today
Posted By: fence

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/20/17 02:59 AM

I hook them just behind the dorsal fin about a fourth of the way down if that makes sense. Occasionally when fishing in heavy current I'll hook through the lips.
Posted By: Andrew Taylor

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/20/17 03:29 PM

big flats love em clap
Posted By: 🍀El Gato Azul🍀

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/20/17 06:04 PM

I love the smell of chopped Bluegill in the morning. Smells like...victory!
Posted By: kykat

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/21/17 09:19 AM

Great catfish bait and easy to catch with a cast net or r/r. Remove the scales off the end of the hook after running it through the bait fish.
Posted By: SARG

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/21/17 12:00 PM

Hook'em forward of the eyeball sockets** with a good 8/0 and theyll live much longer then the meat stab method
(*** In one eye hole and out the other without damaging the eyeballs on either side)
Posted By: WillieRip

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/21/17 12:55 PM

Thx guys. I haven't had any luck with using bluegill as cutbait. Since I catch most of my bluegill with live bait and I see tons of guys using live shad for spotted bass, I figure give live bluegill a try.
Posted By: taterpop

Re: Live bluegill? - 05/22/17 05:44 AM