Texas Fishing Forum

Drift fishing with live bait

Posted By: Big Zee

Drift fishing with live bait - 09/14/16 12:56 PM

Almost all my catfishing has been done by anchoring or tied off to a tree. Been getting into the drift fishing thing and have had some success. I was wondering do any of ya'll ever use live large minnows or gold fish to drift fish with? I know we use them for yellow cats in the rivers and catch blues and channels on them also. I've been catfishing for over 49 years now, but I'm really just a drift fishing rookie here. Been reading all the advice ya'll have given to everyone who asks and have put it to practice. Plan on doing more catfishing this winter then duck hunting. It's getting a little hard to get the old bones going that early in the morning anymore. cheers
Posted By: tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish

Re: Drift fishing with live bait - 09/14/16 01:03 PM

I personally haven't done very well with goldfish. Usually use cut shad. I have used a lot of live shad but have found it not worth the hassle. On the lakes I fish, the sandbass and hybrids get to the live bait before the cats usually.
Posted By: steveiam

Re: Drift fishing with live bait - 09/18/16 01:22 AM

Originally Posted By: tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish
I personally haven't done very well with goldfish. Usually use cut shad. I have used a lot of live shad but have found it not worth the hassle. On the lakes I fish, the sandbass and hybrids get to the live bait before the cats usually.

+1 on the goldfish-

Re: Drift fishing with live bait - 09/18/16 02:55 PM

We use the gold fish on the Little River for yellow cats. You either catch a yellow or a snake. The minnow we use are about 4 to 5 inches long. A elderly gentleman sales them at his gas station. Hadn't had them lately.

Have ya'll every tried cut gold fish? They suppose to be from the carp family and I know we do good on cut carp for blues on jugs.
Posted By: MathGeek

Re: Drift fishing with live bait - 09/19/16 12:59 PM