Texas Fishing Forum

Question for trotliners

Posted By: CarolinaRigger

Question for trotliners - 11/21/15 05:04 AM

I've been trotlining for about 17 years and do it the way my dad taught me. Always at the bottom in 20-30 ft. of water. But a lot of people have been telling me they run their lines with little to no weight on them.

I'm fishing on a power plant lake, targeting the biggest blues I can find. I catch a bunch on the bottom between the 20-50 lb range. Can this size fish be caught higher up?

I use 3 to 7 inch bream and tilapia for bait. Will cut bait work for the big boys as well? And will I catch a bunch of smaller ones if I use cut bait? I've never used it considering I only go after the big boys but sometimes bait is hard to come by.

Any of ya'll got any tips, pointers, or advice?
Posted By: ChuChu1

Re: Question for trotliners - 11/21/15 01:32 PM

If you are catching fish, keep on keeping on. I never used heavy weights, usually three 1 pound weights on a 50 foot line. I always tied one end, then stretched the line out and would adjust tension so I could feel the weight touching bottom. Tied it off and finished baiting. That kept the bait about a foot off bottom. As far as water depth, I always set in 10 to 15 feet deep. I always tied the line as deep as I could reach, not wanting anyone to see it.
Posted By: Jimbo

Re: Question for trotliners - 11/21/15 03:07 PM

I agree with ChuChu! Why fix something that isn't broke?
You might experiment a little and try something a little different, but if it's already working why change?

Re: Question for trotliners - 11/22/15 10:46 PM

I reported him for trolling, maybe the mods will agree.

Re: Question for trotliners - 12/03/15 02:39 AM

I catch a lot of fish deep but get hung up a lot. Just wondered if fishing up high would work as well. Figured it might save on getting hung up. I go through a lot of hooks and line the other way.

Re: Question for trotliners - 12/03/15 02:41 AM

Originally Posted By: ChuChu1