Texas Fishing Forum

Chum brings in the drum

Posted By: TexomaCatfisher

Chum brings in the drum - 10/12/15 06:08 PM

Went fishing on Texoma yesterday and brought my jug lines with me. I took my grandpa and my dad with me. We chummed with 20% range cubes, which I have never tried before, and caught plenty of cats, but not as many as normal. Caught a good amount of gar, and a fish I had never seen before. My grandfather said that it was a freshwater drum. Any one else ever catch these when fishing for catfish? I have fished these same spots before and never caught one. I think maybe the range cubes brought them in.
Posted By: Joe Slab

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/12/15 06:23 PM

Gasper goo, Drum. Catch them all the time. Their not very selective on what they eat. Caught them on cut shad and when slabbing for sand bass or striper.
Posted By: Cat finder

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/12/15 06:35 PM

Yep I've caught them when using carp as bait. They taste pretty good fried in a lemon pepper seasoning mix.
Posted By: opus

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/12/15 07:37 PM

They are dumb fish actually have rocks in their head
Posted By: olenarey87

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/12/15 08:06 PM

They are a great bait for blues.
Posted By: DataHawk

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/13/15 12:48 AM

Catch them all the time, they will eat anything just about that is laying on the bottom. Never had any luck with them as cut bait. Fried them with catfish once and neither my wife or I liked them.
Posted By: senko 1

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/14/15 12:32 AM

Great cut bait use the all my life on the Sabine river caught some big cats it a cheap bait too
Posted By: BrianTx01

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/14/15 01:39 PM

I have caught a fair amount of stripers on cut drum.
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Chum brings in the drum - 10/14/15 06:45 PM

Eaten them along side cats and white bass and found no discernible difference.