Texas Fishing Forum

Dog poop in compost??

Posted By: Jon

Dog poop in compost?? - 04/28/18 03:25 PM

I'm new at this but I figured it'd be fine to put the dog poop in it so before checking, I got it all mixed up in most of my compost materials.

Then I started reading up on it and sounds like most don't recommend it unless you can guarantee you have got the pile up to 165F for a certain time. How the heck would you be sure the whole thing had got hot enough through out and not just in the middle? Is it that dang risky for spreading disease or parasites to humans?

Had I studied this ahead of time i'd have just separated it out, and I can still scatter out the brown and green I have bagged up separate to add as needed and rake out the dog poop. But if it's that risky, there's probably going to be some contamination left in there. I wish I had checked ahead of time!! 3 months of kitchen scraps are now too far mixed up to separate anything.

It's for a vegetable gardens. What would you guys suggest? Thanks!
Posted By: elcoyote, esq.

Re: Dog poop in compost?? - 04/28/18 03:49 PM

Get a compost thermometer, check it daily.

https://www.amazon.com/REOTEMP-Backyard-...1SNP3Y4GFKA9N96

You do need to pasteurize The dog poop before it will be inert.
Posted By: Uncle Zeek

Re: Dog poop in compost?? - 04/28/18 09:09 PM

Jon, I would not use dog poop, cat poop etc in compost intended for vegetable gardening. It's possible for any parasites, etc to end up on your food.

If you were using the compost for ornamental gardening, I wouldn't worry too much about it.
Posted By: Siberman

Re: Dog poop in compost?? - 04/29/18 12:18 AM

Originally Posted By: Uncle Zeek
Jon, I would not use dog poop, cat poop etc in compost intended for vegetable gardening. It's possible for any parasites, etc to end up on your food.

If you were using the compost for ornamental gardening, I wouldn't worry too much about it.

^^^
Posted By: Jon

Re: Dog poop in compost?? - 04/29/18 02:35 AM