Texas Fishing Forum

Basic paint color selection

Posted By: bell0347

Basic paint color selection - 06/08/16 11:51 PM

Total newbie here. I've had an interest in painting hard baits for some time now but have never tried it. My buddies opened a taxidermy shop and loaned me a couple airbrushes and a compressor to try my hand at painting duck bills and what not for them. While I have the gear now I'd also like to paint up a few baits. I have a handful of deep cranks I don't use and several square bills that I've knocked the bills off of on rocks and docks to practice on. What is a basic paint selection I should get to get myself started color and brand wise. Looking to do basics first, chart/black back, shad pattern, maybe a fire tiger or something too. I have Hobby Lobby nearby and can also order from Amazon or wherever you guys find the best prices on supplies.
Posted By: Bradshuflin aka hunter'sdad

Re: Basic paint color selection - 06/09/16 12:43 AM

White for base coating, I use a neon yellow for the chartreuse blk, opaque blk, a blue you like, a orange for throat patches, and maybe a few pearls pearl white and silver and you could make a variety of different patterns. I wouldn't go overboard until you decide you like painting, I probably have 200 different colors and always find another one I have to have.
Posted By: basscat dad

Re: Basic paint color selection - 06/09/16 02:32 AM

everything brad said is right on the money. get you paints from walmart or hobby lobby to begin. less than $2 for any color you would need. most are either $0.50-$0.97 for 2 oz. get the acrylic paint. cut it with water and pledge floor shine in a 50/50 ratio. you want it to be like skim milk.
watch lots of videos on youtube on lure painting. start with simple color patterns. get a piece of 2" dia. pvc to practice on. lowes and home depot sell them pre-cut to 2'. clean up easy and last forever.
Posted By: Bois d'arc

Re: Basic paint color selection - 06/12/16 02:31 PM