Texas Fishing Forum

Lake Lewisville Damn

Posted By: Corndogsticks

Lake Lewisville Damn - 07/09/17 12:55 AM

I'm still learning Lake Lewisville, has anyone had any luck trolling the damn?
Posted By: Kingfish1760

Re: Lake Lewisville Damn - 07/10/17 05:05 PM

Please keep in mind I'm a Lake Lewisville novice myself, but we absolutely slayed the sand bass on Sunday. We fished all morning for ditch pickles and came up empty. We didn't find anything at the dam and hardly marked a single fish there, but when we packed it in to run back to the ramp at 11 am we drove flat into several huge surface boils. They stayed up for an hour and a half and somehow no one saw us hauling in fish after fish so we had them to ourselves for the entire time. Anyway it seems that all the fish were in the main body of the lake in about 40 ft. of water. When they finally went down we were marking fish everywhere from 15 ft. down to about 30. I have no idea if this is the regular pattern or dumb luck, either way it was a great Sunday on the water so I'll take it.

Good luck!
Posted By: mickeytfc

Re: Lake Lewisville Damn - 07/10/17 08:18 PM

[quote=Kingfish1760]I have no idea if this is the regular pattern or dumb luck,

That's the regular pattern but great luck that a bunch of yahoos didn't roar in and put them down. You don't have to tell but I wonder where you found them because I was out at the same time and there was a dozen boats bunched up in the middle of the lake. They didn't stay on them though and it ended up just being me and two other boats, working them real easy, just staying on the edge of the two acre school, so they stayed up a long while. I left them still hitting at noon.

As for trolling the dam, haven't tried it but lots of scattered fish marking at 30 feet, we've been catching them on slabs hung over the side while we are working surfacing fish. Bigger whites that way and hybrids too.
Posted By: oakpointaggie

Re: Lake Lewisville Damn - 07/10/17 08:44 PM