Texas Fishing Forum

Guide fishing

Posted By: FishnDenton

Guide fishing - 06/21/17 02:55 AM

If you need an assistant during the evenings or on the weekends, let me know.

Re: Guide fishing - 06/21/17 02:59 AM

I had this big passionate text about learning to guide but the text didn't work.
Posted By: CHAMPION FISH

Re: Guide fishing - 06/22/17 04:25 PM

It takes the fun out of fishing and turns it into a job.
Posted By: mickeytfc

Re: Guide fishing - 06/22/17 04:32 PM

Well, as the saying goes, choose a job you love and you will never work another day in your life, said by Confucius or somebody really smart.
Posted By: jbobo

Re: Guide fishing - 06/22/17 05:16 PM

I've been guiding part time for a few years. It is fun till the clients want to fish anyway when it is 17 degrees and wind is 20+ out of the north or its 110 with no wind. 4:00 am throwing cast net for shad and it is 90 degrees is fun also. If that is what you want to do for a living to support your family be ready for the good and bad. I've seen a few wind up getting divorced because the wife resented the husband "playing" at his guide job when she thought he should be more responsible and provide better for the family. It can be done though with a lot of understanding and sacrifice. Good luck!
Posted By: G Love

Re: Guide fishing - 06/22/17 09:16 PM

Originally Posted By: jbobo
I've been guiding part time for a few years. It is fun till the clients want to fish anyway when it is 17 degrees and wind is 20+ out of the north or its 110 with no wind. 4:00 am throwing cast net for shad and it is 90 degrees is fun also. If that is what you want to do for a living to support your family be ready for the good and bad. I've seen a few wind up getting divorced because the wife resented the husband "playing" at his guide job when she thought he should be more responsible and provide better for the family. It can be done though with a lot of understanding and sacrifice. Good luck!

I seent it happen