Texas Fishing Forum

Green lights for Crappie

Posted By: CCBIRDDOGMAN

Green lights for Crappie - 06/02/17 03:07 PM

I'm installing four 16' strips of green L.E.D.'s on the bottom of my pontoon boat, should be very bright. Do I just anchor up wherever I want and the fish come to me? Or do I need to slowly drift? What are some of y'alls tactics for fishing this way? I've never tried it.
Posted By: Cory Lee

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/02/17 04:02 PM

I'm no expert but I've always just anchored up near structure. If no bites in 20 minutes try another spot.
Posted By: gar1970

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/02/17 06:00 PM

This^^^^
Posted By: dieselpower97

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/02/17 06:25 PM

we would tie up, or anchor by something, structure, etc... the minnows will show up and then the fish. some nights are great, some are slow. good luck
Posted By: scruboak

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/02/17 07:09 PM

I would use them only while anchored.
Posted By: justchillin

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/02/17 09:49 PM

I have always just anchored where my graph showed a few fish and let the lights do their job. Make sure and give it 30 minutes to an hour for the lights to attract the bait , which attracts the fish. If after that time no bait or fish , its probably time to re-locate.
Posted By: Double Row

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/03/17 03:57 PM

I'm going to give fishing with lights a try. Thanks for the tips.
Posted By: chickenman

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/03/17 07:27 PM

Tie up to a bridge pylon or some trees you favor.
Posted By: KidKrappie

Re: Green lights for Crappie - 06/03/17 07:56 PM

I haven't done much night fishing but I think this applies. Once the sun goes down, crappie scatter from their daytime haunts (bridges, brush, timber, etc.). So, it makes sense to be close to these areas so when the fish scatter, they don't have to go far to find your lights.
Posted By: RiverBanks