Texas Fishing Forum

FINALLY..............A Glimmer of GOOD News

Posted By: tboxfish

FINALLY..............A Glimmer of GOOD News - 12/03/15 12:53 PM

For those of you that don't know, I fell on 11-19-2010 8', landing on my buttocks.
The fall resulted in a Blow-Out fracture of my T-11 vertebrae. I saw the images from my 1st MRI and it wasn't pretty.
I'm no doctor, but I knew the jagged edges on the top and all the cracks didn't look anything like the vertebrae above and below
That was over 5yrs now and I've been to quite a few doctors after it didn't heal in the 3-4 months that I was told it would.
Same story from all the doctors, cracks have healed in the bone, it's solid....No reason for you to still be in pain except for your part of the small
percentage of people that don't heal from this type of injury bang

I've been on a HVY pain management program ever since and HATE IT! realmad

After waiting months to get approval from Workers Comp, on Monday I visited a doctor in Houston that had fixed a neighbor of ours on Lake Cypress Springs. She had had back problems that nobody could diagnosis and was also on pain management and blood pressure medicine due to pain. She visited Dr. Esses and he quickly found that her back was broke, she had a lower fusion and is now completely pain free and off all the meds.

Dr. Esses stated that they had discovered that the patients, like me, that had my type of injury and didn't heal, was due to the disc blowing out, not out to the side as is the normal way a disc ruptures, but downward into the cavity created by the compression of the bone. I lost 35% of the height on the front side of the vertebrae. He stated that all my records indicted this and was shocked that nobody else had known or wanted to check out the obvious loco
Belinda & I both were simply overjoyed to hear this and had to wipe tears back.