Texas Fishing Forum

Friday Coldfront ???

Posted By: FISH_JUNKY

Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/14/15 11:11 PM

I read the Grapevine post and some replies suggested the weather has shut the biggns or keepers down. What do you all think about fishn after the cold front comes through Friday and Saturdays weather will be cooler and the wind out of the NE. Will the cooler weather trigger a frenzy bite?? Any insite from the well tuned and Pro Fisherman welcomed. Listening is learning and I'm still learning. Thanks in advance.
Posted By: larry mays

Re: Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/14/15 11:26 PM

Always check the wind, and wind speed and plan the trip by it. you can try to stay where its not as bad are use heavy jigs. Its just a guess, and I have been crappie fishing over 50 years and I am still learning,
Posted By: I love fishing

Re: Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/15/15 12:14 AM

Last weekend cold front moved in and they were biting crazy even when the wind changed from north to south. Go and enjoy the time on the water. We kept 38 crappies last Saturday. To me cold front didn't affect them at all. It'll be fun and time we'll spent. Looked like wind is around 5 to 10 mph this weekend. It'll be perfect on the water. Good luck and be safe.
Posted By: Ruffneck2000

Re: Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/15/15 04:48 AM

more cold more meat !
Posted By: KidKrappie

Re: Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/15/15 11:41 AM

The front will help for sure. Fronts are constant reminders that winter is coming and that they need to feed up. The fish at Grapevine have been pretty skinny so they still have alot of feeding to do before winter arrives.
Posted By: Spiderman

Re: Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/15/15 01:55 PM

I like to fish before or during the front. The next day I'll usually pass. After that the afternoon bite will return first and eventually they will get past it.

To me crappie are more sensitive to weather changes than bass.
Posted By: The Crappie Guy

Re: Friday Coldfront ??? - 10/15/15 04:39 PM