Texas Fishing Forum

Where did they go.....

Posted By: canyoncreek06

Where did they go..... - 01/30/18 04:29 AM

OK, I'm fairly new to modern crappie fishing. Years ago my high school buddies and I would catch them at Lake Texana when it first opened up. We had no technology back then. Just an old 16ft. riveted hull flatbottom with a 35hp Evinrude. We would just tie up to a stand of willow trees and do very well. Well, Texana has silted up over the years and remains a mudhole the majority of the time. I have done well there the last couple of years fishing up the tributaries feeding it. I also fish Coleto Creek (power plant lake) mainly because it's about a 20min drive from the house. During the summer I would do well there up until the fronts started coming through. Summertime pattern was to fish structure in 15-21 ft of water and fish at about 12ft. After the fronts started coming through and gradually dropping the water temps it has become tough to locate fish. Two weeks ago following a couple of brutal cold snaps the water temp had dropped to about 45-46 deg. This past weekend the water temp had come back up to about 60-62deg. in the main lake. I didn't go to the warm water discharge to check the temp in there. I tried some brush and submerged timber from 13-21 FOW at all depths and got one bump. So, my question for the experts who fish power plant lakes is what is the normal pattern during this time of year. Does the spawn on these lakes occur earlier? Seems to me that hours of daylight would affect it vs. water temp. Is the spawn more spread out on these lakes? There are a few coves with some small creeks feeding them. Should I try to get up in those creeks and fish shallower? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

>E
Posted By: leanin post

Re: Where did they go..... - 01/30/18 07:56 AM