Texas Fishing Forum

Tie down method concerns for the H12

Posted By: Rhino68W

Tie down method concerns for the H12 - 02/03/16 02:51 PM

So my Malibu has absolutely no where under the bumpers for me to connect straps to. Plus I don't want to blemish the paint like I did on my Accord. So I have an idea involving 4 cleats mounted in the hull and 4 individual ratchet straps. Tell me what you think. It should allow me to quickly tie down the kayak safely to prevent it from turning sideways on my roof rack and sliding fore or aft. It should also prevent any damage to the hull as I would only be tightening it just enough. The roof rack will have foam on it soon.

I have some solid experience roof topping a kayak and I think this would be a good method, just want some input from others in case I missed something. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I currently have two straps going to opposite side of the roof rack and wraping around the hull parts that connect each side fore and aft but that seems like it will do damage eventually. This picture also shows what the fnal result will sort of look like from one side.
Posted By: Todd™

Re: Tie down method concerns for the H12 - 02/03/16 03:01 PM

I can't do any drawings and I don't have pictures of my setup but get some Chinook tie down straps and strap it around the crossbar. It just goes around the bar and over the kayak and attaches to itself making a loop. I'll see if I can find some direction how.

http://shop.mariner-sails.com/Tie-Down-Straps-Chinook-Wrap-12-Ft-CS-535.htm?categoryId=-1
Posted By: yakintime

Re: Tie down method concerns for the H12 - 02/03/16 03:35 PM

I'd also consider taking off the seat and transporting it upside down. This will be stronger at your roof rack contact points AND not fill up with water if you travel or store in the rain........ just a thought......

Re: Tie down method concerns for the H12 - 02/03/16 03:39 PM

Originally Posted By: yakintime