Texas Fishing Forum

Where to go??

Posted By: iVegotGREYS

Where to go?? - 12/05/17 05:38 AM

Fairly new to Kayaking well I have been paddling around smaller bodies of water for a few months now and want to try some new, larger bodies of water. Conroe is fairly close to me but it seems that water is always rough and far too many recreational boaters out there. So I was wanting to know of some places that have somewhere to put the kayak in as well as have an opportunity to catch some solid fish(not picky but I usually target LMB, wypers, or crappie) and not get ran over in the process. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Posted By: lconn4

Re: Where to go?? - 12/05/17 02:40 PM

I'm not familiar with any of the lakes near you but just looking around this would be one of the first places I would try if I lived in your area. Far north end of Conroe, small parking lot so you shouldn't have too many folks there, plenty of places to hide from the wind, a small bridge nearby and a bigger one a couple of miles further south. Should be some great fishing somewhere within paddling distance if you spend some time looking around. I would head south from the launch.

https://goo.gl/maps/vPpvDPA3FF72

Lake Sommerville looks great too!
https://goo.gl/maps/4wRryVYNBF22
Posted By: Fishbonz

Re: Where to go?? - 12/05/17 03:05 PM

Yeah +1 on Sommerville for Kayak action! Those guys have an annual thing on that lake where they invite others to come and join them in fishing the Yeagua & Nails Creeks I beleive.Check Willaim Tedricks "Fish Tales" on youtube videos
Posted By: BayouFennec

Re: Where to go?? - 12/05/17 05:05 PM

also, head up IH45 and Huntsville State Park has Lake Raven that is also a great place to kayak.
Posted By: Jim Ford

Re: Where to go?? - 12/05/17 05:48 PM