Texas Fishing Forum

Ice Fishing???

Posted By: Kayakfisher123

Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 07:45 PM

Hello, I am pretty new to Texas only been here a little over a year. I live in North Texas Aubrey area. Does anyone know the closest lake to me that freezes solid? I know it will be a bit of a drive. I heard there are ice storms in Texas but judging by the weather we had last 'Winter' surely no lakes are freezing.
Posted By: crapyetr

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 07:48 PM

lakes~~~!!!~~~freeze solid~~~???~~~in Texas~~~???~~~they'd havta be perty shallow
Posted By: Mark Perry

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 07:48 PM

You will be driving 10-12hrs to find that.
Posted By: FlatBack4

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 07:49 PM

Ponds freezing? Maybe and inch or two for a day or two. I wouldn't walk on them though. I've known two kids that thought they could. RIP.

Lakes freezing? No. Just no.

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 08:04 PM

To clarify I am not talking about Texas...obviously... Thanks Mark I didn't realize it was that far up.
Posted By: Mark Perry

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 08:06 PM

Originally Posted By: Kayakfisher123
To clarify I am not talking about Texas... Thanks Mark I didn't realize it was that far up.

Maybe a few lakes in Kansas?
Posted By: EastTexasBassin

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 08:07 PM

Just gotta make a short drive north to Canada.

Only time I see ice on the lake is when I spill my drink.

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 08:27 PM

It's about 5 hours for me to get Wichita. I'm assuming Lakes freeze there?
Posted By: Allen Bass Fisher

Re: Ice Fishing??? - 09/20/17 08:33 PM

Why would you want to go ice fishing? Lived in Illinois and Wisconsin for 32 years and did a lot of it because that's all you could do. I've never had the urge to go back up north in the winter to ice fish. I also did a lot of downhill and cross country sking when I was there and have had no urge to go back to do that either.
Posted By: Txduckhunter