Texas Fishing Forum

Advice on a new trailer

Posted By: Yankee Fool

Advice on a new trailer - 09/03/17 08:58 PM

The trailer on my 2004 Triton 21 TRX makes me nervous. What are my options for getting a new one? Does it have to be custom built for my boat? Will a trailer for a 21ft Ranger or Skeeter (etc) work? Any idea how much a new one would cost or who I might get one from?
Posted By: SteezMacQueen

Re: Advice on a new trailer - 09/03/17 09:03 PM

I'm not an expert, but I am sure, at a minimum, the trailer bunks and supports would have to be rebuilt to match the Triton hull. As for length? I am pretty sure a trailer from a boat of equal length and width could be modded to work.

I would also think that a custom trailer would be better than a refitted trailer, as a custom would be made to set the axles where the majority of the weight would ride. Every boat looks similar, but I bet there are a lot of things to consider when they design them.
Posted By: the skipper

Re: Advice on a new trailer - 09/03/17 09:50 PM

The trailer will have to be fitted tithe bottom of the boat. The best option is aluminum.
Posted By: coachmas

Re: Advice on a new trailer - 09/04/17 12:02 AM

Originally Posted By: the skipper
The trailer will have to be fitted tithe bottom of the boat. The best option is aluminum.

Curious as to why aluminum is best option? I'm in same situation as above and will be looking to replace my champion boat trailer soon. Coach
Posted By: SkeeterRonnie

Re: Advice on a new trailer - 09/04/17 12:25 AM

aluminum= no rust
Posted By: Gamblinman

Re: Advice on a new trailer - 09/04/17 01:01 AM

Aluminum, next choice would be a C channel trailer. Run, don't walk from tube trailers. Trailer bunks and rollers should be fitted to the boat.
Posted By: Donald Harper

Re: Advice on a new trailer - 09/04/17 02:29 AM

Also make sure the cross members are not tube. If you go with a C-Channel go with 5 inch.
Posted By: Hog Jaw