Texas Fishing Forum

Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader.

Posted By: firefighter196965

Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader. - 07/04/17 03:26 AM

I usually use power pro braid 40 lb. and seagar fluorocarbon 15 lb.on my equipment.
I am an expert on the Carolina Rig so got that down. What I'm pushing myself to throw is the Santone football jig in those areas. What I need to know is what you guys use for line and if you use braid with a flouro leader do you use the Alberto knot? How long a leader if so? Any tips well appreciated.
Posted By: lipjerk

Re: Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader. - 07/04/17 04:16 AM

20lb straight flouro will work fine, Alberto for line to line, leader can usually be between 2' to 3'.
Posted By: Danny L. Weems

Re: Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader. - 07/04/17 04:47 AM

I really only use braid for frogs, arigs and on my spinning reels with a flouro leader for drop shot, shaky heads and such.
I use 15-20 lb invizx for my football jigs depending on cover.
Posted By: SkeeterRonnie

Re: Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader. - 07/04/17 04:47 AM

i tried it a few times and kept popping the leader material, so went back to 20# fluoro filled full on the spool.
Posted By: elkhunter7x6

Re: Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader. - 07/04/17 01:35 PM

Originally Posted By: firefighter196965
How long a leader if so? Any tips well appreciated.

I use 20lb invis x with football jigs. I do fish braid with a flouro leader with other presentations and like to use a 6-7' leader. This gives me room to retie my lure a few times before I have to attach a new leader to the main line.
Posted By: elkhunter7x6

Re: Fork+Football Jig+ what line? Thinking about using braid with Fluro Leader. - 07/04/17 01:39 PM