Texas Fishing Forum

Tips for a Co-Angler

Posted By: gut hooked

Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 07:24 AM

I am new to tournament fishing and will be fishing this year as a co-angler in several BASS federation tournaments.

I don't want to embarrass myself in the boat fishing with a person I don't know.

I am looking for any help with rules, written, and unwritten, for being a "good" Co-angler.

I am a competent, and on some days a good, fisherman. I know how to catch fish and am comfortable with multiple presentations.

Any help is appreciated.
Posted By: petro

Re: Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 07:40 AM

Just relax and fish the water in front of you the way you like to. Dont worry about what the guy up front is doing. Be respectful of his equipment and have fun. Keep it simple.

Re: Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 09:25 AM

Excellent insight Petro. Thanks..... GH
Posted By: Bass&More

Re: Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 12:44 PM

Bring your own Cheetos and red kool aid, also watch where you wipe your hands peep
Posted By: BAGaBass

Re: Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 01:04 PM

Don't bring excessive amount of gear. Don't step on his seats. If you smoke and he doesn't, ask first. Johnny on the spot with the net every time he hooks up. Ask him first thing in the morning about his rules for the boat. If he is a talker,engage in conversation. If he doesn't talk much,shut up and fish. Enjoy.
Posted By: SoCal Tom

Re: Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 01:53 PM

Talk to him about netting a fish. Make sure you know how HE wants it done and adjust if necessary. As stated before, be quick with the net when he is hooked up. Keep your gear organized and out of his way. Treat his boat better than if you owned it. Be fair on what you chip in for gas and expenses. Have fun! Being a co can be a great experience. Good luck!
Posted By: BigBassB

Re: Tips for a Co-Angler - 01/06/17 01:57 PM