Texas Fishing Forum

Sabine river

Posted By: Daddyof2

Sabine river - 08/26/16 11:23 AM

I'm a Tx resident with Tx fishing license. Do I need a La fishing license to fish the Sabine?
Posted By: Cast

Re: Sabine river - 08/26/16 11:47 AM

No. It's shared waters.
Posted By: TroyKing

Re: Sabine river - 08/26/16 11:51 AM

Originally Posted By: Cast
No. It's shared waters.
nope you don't.
Posted By: HItec Redneck

Re: Sabine river - 08/27/16 01:46 PM

As long as you don't go inland in a ditch or a cut on the LA side you will be fine. I made that mistake @ 35 years ago.
Posted By: fish 4 5

Re: Sabine river - 08/27/16 01:56 PM

Is the Sabine flooding? Is there a site to check water conditions?
Thanks
Posted By: mrdvant

Re: Sabine river - 08/27/16 03:42 PM

http://water.weather.gov/ahps2/hydrograph.php?wfo=LCH&gage=DWYT2
Posted By: Daddyof2

Re: Sabine river - 08/30/16 01:48 PM

It seemed like it may be a touch high. We caught about 30 the first day and probably 10 the second day. The only problem... absolutely none over a pound and a 1/4. Fun trip though. We caught them every way imaginable.
Posted By: kellisag

Re: Sabine river - 08/30/16 02:12 PM

If you fish in the main river or anything on the Texas side no you don't need it. If you go in any cut/ditch/creek East of the river channel you will need a LA license.
Posted By: TroyKing

Re: Sabine river - 08/30/16 02:15 PM

Originally Posted By: Daddyof2
It seemed like it may be a touch high. We caught about 30 the first day and probably 10 the second day. The only problem... absolutely none over a pound and a 1/4. Fun trip though. We caught them every way imaginable.
good deal! Sounds like a fun day.I've got two boys and we love gitting on the river...what part of the river were you fishing?
Posted By: Corey Stanley

Re: Sabine river - 09/01/16 01:23 PM

Originally Posted By: kellisag