Texas Fishing Forum

Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder??

Posted By: MUHerd

Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 08:19 AM

Hey all,

I'm kinda new to Texas and haven't been fishing much at all. I don't have a boat and have to go to lakes I can walk around. I have been wondering about catching a bass of a lifetime and here in Texas it would be one of the best places to give it a shot. So, I thought I'd pose this question to you guys and gals.

OK, lets say you had 3 days and could use any LURE you wanted, but NO LIVE bait, and you had to catch a bass that weighed at least 10 pounds. You also have to stay within the Texas state lines.

What lake would you choose to go to and why?

Thanks
Posted By: TxBassSniper

Re: Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 08:50 AM

and you have to fish from the bank???
Probably Fork or T-Bend, although I did hear of a SAL caught off the bank on Conroe in the spring a few years back.

Re: Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 10:52 AM

I should've made my proposition clearer.

NO....in my scenario you can fish from a boat or the bank, your choice.

What does "SAL" mean?
Posted By: Chuck72

Re: Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 11:48 AM

Toledo Bend or Ivie would be my choice.
Posted By: 5Redman8

Re: Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 11:53 AM

Toledo
Posted By: Mr. Greensides

Re: Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 11:56 AM

SAL= Sharelunker, A bass weighing 13 pounds or more. Reference Texas sharelunker program.

O.H.Ivie
Alan Henry
Posted By: Rudy Lackey

Re: Where in Texas Would You Have the BEST Chance to Catch a 10 Pounder?? - 06/18/16 12:11 PM

T Bend Ray Roberts Fork
Posted By: Donald Harper