Texas Fishing Forum

First Time, Long Time! Would appreciate any help I can get.

Posted By: Sloth

First Time, Long Time! Would appreciate any help I can get. - 03/23/16 09:24 PM

Hey you guys! Sloth here, I've bee following along here and there for a while but decided to take the plunge today and sign up. I'm really new to bass fishing. I bought a kayak last week and stated getting a few things tackle wise, but I'm not sure if I'm getting the right stuff.....

Also I want to take it out this weekend for the very first time. I just don't know where to start, I was thinking of driving to lake Fork.

Is that a good kayak lake for me to start on?
Any info on tackle for a beginning black bass fisherman would help a ton also.

Thanks in advance!

The Sloth
Posted By: dandeeks

Re: First Time, Long Time! Would appreciate any help I can get. - 03/23/16 09:27 PM

why not start on White Rock Lake? Fork is HUGE. I would definitely pick a smaller more kayak friendly place so you don't have to contend with wind and waves, boats and their wakes, and traffic. Also, getting from A to B takes a while in a yak.

ps... there's a yak forum in here somewhere as well that I am sure you can gain better more experienced yak information.
Posted By: Allen Bass Fisher

Re: First Time, Long Time! Would appreciate any help I can get. - 03/23/16 09:29 PM

Welcome Sloth! I would recommend going to a smaller lake like Crockett up near Honey Grove. Easier to get around and not have to fight with all the crazy spring time Fork fisherman. Easy to get around should be little boat traffic to contend with. Lots of grass and lily pads to fish.
Posted By: InTheClear

Re: First Time, Long Time! Would appreciate any help I can get. - 03/23/16 09:33 PM

Find a State Park close by!
Posted By: Rockie Martin

Re: First Time, Long Time! Would appreciate any help I can get. - 03/23/16 09:41 PM

Welcome to the forum! flag
Posted By: jcarring99