Texas Fishing Forum

Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard

Posted By: M. Alexander

Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard - 03/14/16 01:52 PM

I'm still learning 'ol Mother Hubbard & haven't ventured up the river yet...hear it's pretty treacherous. Could somebody shed some insight on how to run it...post or PM a shot of a route? That would be awesome. Thanks in advance.
Posted By: Kidde

Re: Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard - 03/14/16 02:45 PM

By the time this thread is though, there will be 5 different arguments going, 78 replies telling you that there aren't any fish there, 42 replies telling you it's too dangerous, and 6 guys all telling one or 2 others how awesome they are for actually knowing how to get in there.
Posted By: Kidde

Re: Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard - 03/14/16 03:11 PM

I did fish it one time with a guy that knew how to get in there and we never got a bite. He kept telling me that he was catching 30 pounds every time he went in there and of course when I went, zero!
Posted By: Ranger1

Re: Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard - 03/14/16 03:22 PM

I have going in there for 30 years and you better know what you are doing because you will loose a lower unit in a heart beat. It is extremely dangerous for the ones who want to take a chance. Now with that being said there have not been any fish up there for about three years now, way to much current. Good Luck
Posted By: T CLIMER

Re: Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard - 03/14/16 05:09 PM

I been fishing that lake all my life and yea back in the days before GPS goggle and videos we did catch a lot of big sacks up there! But you better know what your doing going up there!! It's not what it used to be, I fished up there sat in a tournament had one little one in there, the current is not moving out of Lavon and want till Hubbard gets some water gone, but be careful if you try it!
Posted By: BThomas

Re: Take me to the river! Ray Hubbard - 03/14/16 05:47 PM

I was up there Saturday too. Fishing stinks !