Texas Fishing Forum

Lake Falcon Hazards

Posted By: BToombs

Lake Falcon Hazards - 12/06/15 02:52 AM

Heading to Falcon in Feb and looking to fish the Mexico side around the submerged church. Does anyone know of running hazards like submerged concrete, roads or anything else I should be concerned about? Any tips would be helpful too.

Thanks
Posted By: pinesjunkie

Re: Lake Falcon Hazards - 12/06/15 03:34 AM

Fish back there a bunch you have to look at depth more than anything because the water can get skiiny quick and thats rock on the bottom and don't run to close to the south bank. there is timber back there but it all depends on the water level.
Posted By: Phil Clark

Re: Lake Falcon Hazards - 12/06/15 08:14 AM

I am a truck driver and just drove through Zapata and the lake looked full to me
Posted By: Rick Collis

Re: Lake Falcon Hazards - 12/06/15 11:50 AM

The lake is 17 feet low. I was there in Nov and we fished the Salado 1 day. As stated above there is timber in the center of the creek just past the fish camp. The only other hazards are gill nets. Most are marked with jugs, but not all. We caught a lot of small fish in there, but did not get on the larger fish. Good luck
Posted By: NoWeighers

Re: Lake Falcon Hazards - 12/06/15 01:09 PM

The church is currently far from being submerged. It does not have any water anywhere close to it at this level. You can fish the river channel and a bit of the old town in the general vicinity.

There is the old school building very near the river channel, an "L" shaped building to the west of the channel. The roof is a couple of feet out of the water right now I would think..