Texas Fishing Forum

Carolina Rig Weight?

Posted By: 361V

Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 02:55 PM

I've been fishing a C-rig for years(many, many years)now. Not my favorite technique but it just works. Usually a 3/4 to 1oz weight and I like tungsten because of the feel for the bottom. Don't necessarily believe it results in more fish but I like the feel. Question: do y'all prefer a traditional shaped "worm weight" or the "flipping style" weight for your C-rig weight?
Posted By: 007.

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 03:08 PM

I prefer the cylinder style weight. I use 3/4 oz. most of the time, but in deep water I will use 1 oz.

http://www.basspro.com/Bass-Pro-Shops-XPSFinesse-Weights/product/15795/?cmCat=
Posted By: timwins31

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 03:20 PM

I use cylinder weights too, lead ones. The only lead weights I still use. Anywhere from 3/8oz if I'm fishing shallow and little wind to 1.5oz in deeper water or wind.
Posted By: buton

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 03:37 PM

i am trying every weight... so far i think lead egg sinker works good because it does not hang up a lot like tungsten barrel weights.
Posted By: WAWI

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 03:46 PM

I just got some 1 oz steel bullets. I have left so many 1 oz tungsten is Squaw the last couple weeks it's offensive. I went to academy to get more and they were out. I was the one who bought them all. Lol
Posted By: musiclife_7

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 03:54 PM

I prefer 1oz EGG shaped weights. They tend to not get hung as much.
Posted By: Mayo

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 04:02 PM

I like just your normal egg sinkers. They do not hang up even in rocky areas and I feel the bottom just fine. I usually start with 1/2 oz and move up from there depending on depth and wind conditions. I'll put a plastic bead between the swivel and sinker.
Posted By: Bobby Milam

Re: Carolina Rig Weight? - 11/19/15 04:16 PM