Texas Fishing Forum

Humbled by Fork

Posted By: Roll Tide Ranger

Humbled by Fork - 07/05/15 10:53 PM

I would not say that I am an expert angler by any means but I think between me and my fishing partner we are good enough to find a few fish here and there even on our bad days....until today!! This was our first trip to Fork and to say the fishing was tough was an understatement. I am not sure between us we had 5 bites all day and neither of us put a fish in the boat. We threw everything in the boat at them and just were not on any fish. Could be that we were just in the wrong parts of the lake but from what we could determine the lake is pretty well the same everywhere. I can't recall the last time a watermelon red trick worm wouldn't put at least a dink in the boat. I know this lake produces huge fish but man it sure makes a guy want to stay home after a day like that!!
Posted By: Drop_shot_king

Re: Humbled by Fork - 07/05/15 11:12 PM

Happens to the best of us man. Some days are just not your day.
Posted By: 1dbaughman

Re: Humbled by Fork - 07/05/15 11:25 PM

We were there for our first time saturday and we could not find them either.
Posted By: bloo_rainger

Re: Humbled by Fork - 07/05/15 11:49 PM

Extremely tough this weekend for me as well.
Posted By: Lake Fork Guide Marc Mitchell

Re: Humbled by Fork - 07/06/15 12:00 AM

Fork can be brutal ! Try being a guide sometimes. We try our best and sometimes she slaps us in the face and knocks our teeth out ! LOL.

I noticed Friday the day bite was off a bit. I had a couple of guys I know fished Thursday night and they said they killed them so when they feed at night it sure makes it hard to catch in the day time.

Some days are made for fishing and some days are for catching is what I always say.

Next time the bite gets tough try more moving baits cause even if they dont bite sometimes you can still get a reaction strike. IMO

Sorry to hear about your bad luck.
Posted By: scott82