Texas Fishing Forum

How many setups???

Posted By: serg1001

How many setups??? - 06/24/15 07:41 PM

Hey everyone. As of recently, I have been lucky enough start buying more rods and build more combos. Being that I am a college student and do not have a job anymore, it is a bit tough to have absolutely everything needed. However, I have managed to get myself on some decent stuff and was wondering if how I can use all these combos and setups and maybe hear from you all if I am missing something in specific that I should add to my arsenal. Below I will list what I have and what I use it for.

Tour Star heavy cover flipping and pitching rod that adjusts from 7'2" to 7'8". (right now I dont have a reel for it but I feel it would be a good A rig rod)

Duckett micro magic 7'3" MH (I use it for texas rigs, and smaller soft body swimbaits with a 6.5:1 reel)

Quantum Smoke rod 7'0" MH (I use it for smaller spinnerbaits around flooded timber where there isnt much heavy cover with a 7.3:1 reel)

BPS Crankin Stick MH in 7'10" (Of course I use this one for deep cranking with a 5.1:1 reel)

Older TFO rod XHeavy in 7'6" (Usually use it as my deep water C Rig with a 6.3:1)

Older All Star rod in 6'6" (I find this rod to be great with smaller lipless cranks of about maybe half an ounce with a 6.3:1)

Falcon Jason Christie limited edition rod in 7'3" Heavy Mod. Fast (currently have no reel for it)

And there you have it, that is all my arsenal as of right now. I am wanting to get my hands on two reels with a higher speed within the 7s to use on my 2 rods without reels. Any suggestions on what else I should add or how I can better use my gear? Should I change some combos around by swapping reels from one rod to another? Etc. Thanks.

- Sergio Tello
Posted By: Fish Killer

Re: How many setups??? - 06/24/15 08:58 PM