Texas Fishing Forum

Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW)

Posted By: dandeeks

Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 12:45 PM

I just bought my very first boat... It has a tandem trailer rated for 6000 so it must get inspected in order for me to get registration done. DO any of you have a suggestion of where I can go for this?
Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Dan
Posted By: JoeFriday

Re: Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 12:50 PM

There is a site where you can find a location near you. http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/rsd/vi/VIactiveStationLocator/

Re: Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 12:54 PM

Thank you Joe. I'm also new to the country... so I wasn't aware. Besides, recommendations never hurt anybody.

Re: Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 01:56 PM

DFW is pretty big and traffic pretty bad. If you are wanting relevant locations for you, it might be better to specify a city or area. I could tell you where I went in Flower Mound, but if you are in Garland it would be a beating to get there.
Posted By: Ranger1960

Re: Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 02:00 PM

Trailers with a gross weight exceeding 4,500 lbs. must pass an annual safety inspection. If its 4000lbs you dont need one.
Posted By: Bassattak

Re: Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 04:13 PM

AAA Inspection. Carrollton, across from Home Depot on Keller Springs. Very nice guys and was in and out.
Posted By: ChuChu1

Re: Trailer Inspection... where to go? (DFW) - 06/10/15 04:15 PM

Originally Posted By: dandeeks
I just bought my very first boat... It has a tandem trailer rated for 4000 so it must get inspected in order for me to get registration done. DO any of you have a suggestion of where I can go for this?
Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Dan

If it is registered at 4000 GVWR, it does NOT need an inspection.
Posted By: Easy Fisherman