Texas Fishing Forum

Castaway vs Kistler vs Falcon

Posted By: duncan07

Castaway vs Kistler vs Falcon - 05/24/15 01:32 AM

I know these companies all have ties of some sorts, but anyone have any opinions on who makes the best rods today?
Posted By: 90 5.0

Re: Castaway vs Kistler vs Falcon - 05/24/15 01:46 AM

Everyone has different opinions, but all of my castaway and falcon rods are back-ups now or rarely used bait rods and my main rods i use all the time are primarily kistlers(or loomis)
Posted By: M. Alexander

Re: Castaway vs Kistler vs Falcon - 05/24/15 01:59 AM

Falcon for me...mostly Lowriders, but have a few Caras. I've been using them exclusively for 20 years now. The only one I've ever broken has been on a ceiling fan. The Caras are super nice, but I really believe the Lowrider is the best bang for your rod buck out there.
Posted By: SAKS

Re: Castaway vs Kistler vs Falcon - 05/24/15 02:22 AM

Personally I don't believe any rod builder is vastly superior to any other. I comes down to what do you like and what your willing to pay. KVD uses Quantum rods along with AOY Hackney but nobody ever talks about Quantum rods. Would they use a different rod if there was no sponsorship? I personally prefer my Falcon Cara's except in heavy techniques where I use Power Tackle. I have a AllStar flippin stick that cost 1/3 of my Power Tackle and has performed just as good for me but in my mind the Power Tackle is a better rod because I paid more for it. I think you can pick just about any brand and as long as you like it they will perform well. You don't have to spend a fortune to get a quality rod. Spend a little time and don't let anyone tell you what to like.
Posted By: BoomBoom

Re: Castaway vs Kistler vs Falcon - 05/24/15 02:31 AM

I love my Kistler rods, but I agree with what others have said. There are a ton of good rods out there. Find what works for you and your price range.
Posted By: Jake Shannon(Skeet4Life)