Texas Fishing Forum

Electrical Question

Posted By: TwoLakes

Electrical Question - 04/22/15 01:50 AM

Hi All,

I'm trying to understand my power pole pump wiring issues a little better. I'm not an electrician and don't understand why my pumps are wired this way and why the fuses are blowing. I have received a suggestion to move my in line fuses to the pump side of the circuit in the diagram below, but I don't understand why that would resolve my issue.

Issue: When I operate both my poles at the same time, both of my 40 amp in line fuses are blowing at the same time. When I operate the poles individually, they do not blow. The diagram below is a quick representation of the current wiring. Both pump hot wires are running through a single 50 Amp Circuit Breaker.

Questions:

Why would moving the fuses to the pump side of this diagram make a difference?
Should the circuit breaker be rated at 80 amps instead of 50 amps?
Why wouldn't the 50 Amp circuit breaker trip before the 40 Amp fuses blow?

I'm going to use a jumper to take the circuit breaker out of the equation. Each pump should then be able to pull 40 Amps like they need. If jumping across the breaker resolves the issue, I can get an 80 Amp circuit breaker. I would just like to understand why the fuses blow before the breaker trips.

Thanks.
Posted By: Lake Fork Guide

Re: Electrical Question - 04/22/15 01:56 AM

Take both power/ground to the cranking battery

Loose the breaker and go directly from pump to battery with am inline 40amp fuse

This is how it should be done
Posted By: Rickmb

Re: Electrical Question - 04/22/15 01:58 AM

How is everything grounded?
What else is connected to the batteries?
I would put circuit breakers on the pump side just to keep them separate if one goes bad.
Posted By: machinist

Re: Electrical Question - 04/22/15 01:59 AM

I would suggest that you rewire the power poles individually. Run you a wire from the battery