Texas Fishing Forum

revo sx or revo stx?

Posted By: cclr

revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 05:38 AM

should i spend the extra $40 and buy the revo stx? Ive never used abu garcia but the revo seems to be a great reel after reviewing them. Wanting to try one out soon and would like to hear some thoughts on the sx vs. stx
Posted By: sdavis24

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 06:58 AM

I'd say it depends on what type of braking system(s) if any you prefer. Magnetic, centrifugal or both. Some are better on the front end some on the back end. I have several of the stx and winch reels and love them. I also have an sx that I am not as good at casting with. I seem to get some front end backlash because I try to force it. I guess it requires a little more touch and wrist action then I currently have (I'm no pro).

I've also fished with the s or whatever the next lower price point is and I liked it a lot. Had a buddy who had a very similar opinion of the sx.
Posted By: WCLBASS

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 10:11 AM

I have both and I can tell very little difference between them,but mine are not the new gen.
Posted By: catslayer

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 01:12 PM

Originally Posted By: WCLBASS
I have both and I can tell very little difference between them,but mine are not the new gen.

x2

that said, i prob would go stx...
Posted By: plasma800

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 01:25 PM

If you're in that market, you might also want to pick up a pfluger supreme xt. I think it's a nicer reel than the revo and Priced at $149.00. Or the Patriarch Supreme XT, priced at $249 is also a great reel for the money.
Posted By: plasma800

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 01:33 PM

http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Pflueger_Reels_Casting/catpage-RLCPFLUEGER.html
Posted By: jbcarroll3000

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 02:02 PM

Sx
Posted By: Fish AKA Jerry

Re: revo sx or revo stx? - 04/17/15 02:12 PM

Originally Posted By: WCLBASS
Posted By: RO519