Texas Fishing Forum

which lake for a new boater?

Posted By: Superslab

which lake for a new boater? - 03/20/15 05:43 PM

I am new to boating and with the number of lakes in the area I have a few questions. Do most of you pay the yearly launch fee for one lake and primarily fish that lake most of the season, or do you just pay the launch fee at the lake you are going to fish and travel to many lakes during the season?

Since I am fairly new to large lake bass fishing would you recommend I stick with one lake and learn it before going to numerous lakes? I'm not completely new to bass fishing just not experienced fishing larger lakes.

I'm located in the Frisco/Plano area and would realistically fish Ray Roberts, Lewisville, and Grapevine. So do I stick with one and learn it, and if so what lake would you make home base?

Thanks!
Posted By: Drummond1

Re: which lake for a new boater? - 03/20/15 05:50 PM

You can pay annually on Lewisville (even better price for senior) but the bass fishing is tough and there are lot's of skiers, jet skiers and from time to time even float planes on the lake. Not great for a new boater.
Posted By: David Burton

Re: which lake for a new boater? - 03/20/15 05:58 PM

State park pass, use at multiple lakes. Pay for the ramps I need if I want to fish "one-offs". But mostly, I like "free" public ramps. You pay registration fees for them, may as well use them!
Posted By: BAMABASS

Re: which lake for a new boater? - 03/20/15 06:10 PM

Grapevine would be a good lake it's not very big and thre is some good fishing there. I think at most ramps there is a launch fee that you are required to pay (and the lake patrol checks for your pass frequently) so be sure the pass is visible in your windsheild. But, like all local lakes, they will get busy during the warmer months. Hope this helps. fish
Posted By: Superslab

Re: which lake for a new boater? - 03/20/15 06:20 PM

Thanks for the input -