Texas Fishing Forum

Rod for shakey head - help

Posted By: Bassndomer

Rod for shakey head - help - 07/21/14 03:03 PM

I went fishing yesterday on a pond that is stocked with bass. The bite was slow, so I decided to throw a shakey head (I have very little experience with this presentation but want to learn and use it more often). I got two good bites (both fist were at least 3 pounders) but missed both fish. I admit I could have had better hook sets and in both cases the bass threw the bait after they made their initial jump out of the water. I am not sure I stuck them very well. I was using a 6"6" medium Falcon Low Rider rod. I'm thinking maybe the tip on this rod isn't fast enough or its too stiff for this type of presentation. What casting rod should I consider for this shakey head fishing? I welcome your thoughts. TIA.
Posted By: Bradshuflin aka hunter'sdad

Re: Rod for shakey head - help - 07/21/14 03:07 PM

I throw mine on a 7' m fast on a traditional shaky head, if I go over 1/2oz I step it up to a mh fast. Make sure you don't have slack in the line and as soon as you feel the bite set the hook.
Posted By: Samuel Ragle

Re: Rod for shakey head - help - 07/21/14 03:12 PM

Bayou kustom rods has a really good shakey head/drop shot casting rod on sale, $120 in the trade post if I remember right. I like a good 7ft+ Med-medhvy.
Posted By: NTXR

Re: Rod for shakey head - help - 07/21/14 04:27 PM

Originally Posted By: Bradshuflin aka hunter'sdad
I throw mine on a 7' m fast on a traditional shaky head, if I go over 1/2oz I step it up to a mh fast. Make sure you don't have slack in the line and as soon as you feel the bite set the hook.

+1

Re: Rod for shakey head - help - 07/21/14 04:52 PM

Thanks guys. Sounds like a need a new 7ft medium fast tip rod....any suggestions that won't break the bank?
Posted By: Peepaw on Fork

Re: Rod for shakey head - help - 07/21/14 04:57 PM