Texas Fishing Forum

Lake Palestine

Posted By: wild bill

Lake Palestine - 08/04/18 01:22 PM

I have been fishing Palestine for many many years. This year I have talked with my fishing buddies about 'schooling fish'. We have not seen any in a long time. Where did they go? I would say it has been years since seen any..

And while I see and read about Rayburn and Fork fishermen catching fish in plus 20 feet of water. I have been told for years that there is no need to fish deeper that 12 feet on Palestine; cause the fish there dont use (live) the deep water. Is there a difference in the water (grass/running creeks) between Rayburn/ fork and Palestine that causes these fish to live much shallower. I have searched the deep water on Palestine and fished many of what I consider great structure spots; with out any success. Am I looking for something that just aint there? At present I dont see the thermocline. I am using my Helix and Lake maps to find the ledges, river bends, and humps but there just aint nothing there. Can some one with 'deep water' success on Palestine tell me if I am chasing a ghost.

wild bill

wild bill
Posted By: Jeezy

Re: Lake Palestine - 08/04/18 01:27 PM

Your thoughts echo my own, wild bill. I've been fishing it for ten years and couldn't agree more with what you've found.
Posted By: Stew

Re: Lake Palestine - 08/04/18 03:14 PM

There isn’t a lot of productive 20’ plus water (soft bottom) on the lake and with today’s advanced electronics most of the productive water is highly pressured. They gang up good mid May through early June and again in the fall, but other than that it’s a pretty inconsistent bite for me. Go to Fork for deep water schools and just throw in the towel and go north on Palestine.
Posted By: bigfishtx

Re: Lake Palestine - 08/04/18 03:22 PM

Originally Posted By: wild bill