Texas Fishing Forum

Granbury lake help

Posted By: Texas_fishin2010

Granbury lake help - 07/17/18 04:41 PM

Not new to fishing but new to actually being on my own boat and in control. I have been trying to find some offshore fish since it’s 150 degrees everyday and I’m still learning how to read the graphs and can not seem to find anything. Been looking for some structure and stuff just because I am kind of assuming that’s where I will find some fish

Anyone familiar with granbury lake at all that may be able to give me some advice? Maybe some waypoints to try.

P.S. i do 90% of my fishing on the south end
Posted By: Donald Harper

Re: Granbury lake help - 07/17/18 04:52 PM

welcome to the forum. I can help you with a few suggestions to get you headed in the right direction. I do mapping of all the lakes and sometimes giving up a few spots leads to a job to really help you learn the lake and how to fish the lake. Just send me a Personal Message by clicking on my NAME.
Posted By: RudiTexas

Re: Granbury lake help - 07/17/18 05:18 PM

I was in the same position as you last summer, being new to having my own boat and went to granbury as well last July. All I can say is go to a new lake it’s very tough in the summer

Re: Granbury lake help - 07/17/18 05:49 PM

Yea I would like to go explore new lakes with the new boat. But being 5 minutes from granbury lake is pretty nice. And I usually am at a crunch for time so I am trying to make the best of of. I know I just need to spend time on the water and learn. I just get a bit frustrated some times haha
Posted By: RudiTexas

Re: Granbury lake help - 07/17/18 06:02 PM

We were throwing finesse jigs on the steep rocky banks on the south side and slowwww crawling them. Casting into 3 feet of water dragging down into 15 or so then restarting. Got a couple bites that way but still like I said nothing special. Biggest of that day was like a 3 pounder and then we caught like 7-8 small ones