Texas Fishing Forum

Joe Pool tips

Posted By: TexasMike

Joe Pool tips - 04/16/18 10:44 PM

I am fishing in a Law Enforcement charity tournament this coming weekend at Joe Pool Lake and I need some advice. I am new to the area and have never fished that lake. Any tips would be great so we can show up and kick some fellow police officer's butts.
Posted By: fivebites

Re: Joe Pool tips - 04/16/18 10:48 PM

They were biting spinner baits like crazy two weeks ago.
Posted By: BigHead248

Re: Joe Pool tips - 04/16/18 11:00 PM

I am also a Law Enforcement Officer and will also be fishing the same said tournament at the same said lake. I would also appreciate some advice so I can also kick fellow officers butts (including the OP) nannyboo
Posted By: Scott Gordon

Re: Joe Pool tips - 04/16/18 11:53 PM

Look forward to seeing ya'll Saturday!
Posted By: Bill Durham

Re: Joe Pool tips - 04/17/18 02:30 AM

Guys.. I fished it today.. water temp is still 59-61 and a little stained except at the dam. I caught 6 little ones pretty shallow on the north bank.. just at the end of the Lynn Creek campground. There is a cut there that is fairly deep all the way back. I was drop shotting, watermelon red zoom finesse worms. I caught them before the south wind got up to the 15 or 20 when I left. I'm not sure if the bass are on the bed yet or not.. I fished it 2 weeks ago and the water temp was the same. If its warm the rest of the week, some might move up shallow. The lake is full.. Good Luck
Posted By: SteezMacQueen

Re: Joe Pool tips - 04/17/18 03:31 AM

Originally Posted By: BigHead248
I am also a Law Enforcement Officer and will also be fishing the same said tournament at the same said lake. I would also appreciate some advice so I can also kick fellow officers butts (including the OP) nannyboo

If you've fished Waxahachie lately....Joe Pool is fishing the same. Use the same colors and fish the same structure.
Posted By: Ricky Taylor

Re: Joe Pool tips - 04/17/18 03:43 AM