Texas Fishing Forum

TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale

Posted By: RexW

TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/05/16 03:53 AM

FYI, people often post asking about a good starter rod.

Well, Sierra Trading Post just listed some of the TFO NXT rod and reel combo's for $99. The NXT combo has a 4 pc rod, reel, line, backing, and rod case.
Posted By: 1960texan

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/05/16 04:22 AM

That's a great deal for a TFO combo.
Posted By: KurtActual

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/07/16 12:45 PM

Any way to find out the rod speed? I am returning a combo I bought, and will be looking to replace it ASAP.
I think as a beginner, I would prefer a medium or medium-fast rod. Thanks

Edit: Bought one anyways. Haha Couldnt pass up that kind of quality in my price range

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/07/16 02:10 PM

The rods have a medium-fast action with a progressive taper design. The blanks cast extremely similar to the TFO Pro series rods.

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/07/16 02:58 PM

Thanks Rex. I am excited to try it out. Should be here on Veteran's Day.
Posted By: Texjbq

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/07/16 05:35 PM

Thanks for the heads up. Just bought one myself.
Posted By: keebranch

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/08/16 08:23 PM

good value- the rod itself is a ProII series. Way more in cost than the $99.00 -$129.00 price range for the outfit.

Les

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/08/16 10:51 PM

Originally Posted By: keebranch
good value- the rod itself is a ProII series.

Wait, it is not the same rod as the TFO Pro II. They are very similar, but they are not identical. They have very different hardware (guides, grip, etc.) The hardware is nicer on the Pro II series rods.
Posted By: keebranch

Re: TFO NXT Rod Combo's on Sale - 11/11/16 04:22 PM

Hi Rex
As I was told ( by same folks you know) blank is ProII painted in a different scheme, different hardware, yet same four piece blank.

Les
Posted By: Texjbq