Texas Fishing Forum

Skunked at LMFR

Posted By: hayes00

Skunked at LMFR - 05/13/15 05:00 PM

I made my first legitimate attempt at fly fishing LMFR this weekend and I didn't catch a darn thing. The water was much higher and faster than when I was there last September. I figured with all the rain that was to be expected. Spillway was moving very fast so I didn't see many great spots.

If not obvious, I should point out that I'm a newbie at this. I can cast well enough, found the popular spots, and have an idea of where the fish hangout. I didn't see many fish at all, but there was a guide there who was helping someone pull in quite a few of them. So I'm convinced I was just using the wrong flies / rig / etc.

I was using some flies from TarponFly's recommended list. I looked under rocks but couldn't find any "hatches." I went through many different types of flies (I wish I knew the names so I could tell you.) Pretty much all Orvis flys and TarponFly's Near Deere. I tried to go with what I had that looked like what TarponFly described for May. I used a small bulb strike indicator part of the time about 2' up from the fly.

I would typically get beside the spot where I thought there were fish, but about 10-15' away. Then I'd cast upstream at a 45' angle and have the fly float down near where I thought the fish were. I was careful to keep it floating naturally, by mending, etc. Then I would repeat.

Any thoughts/tips/etc. would be appreciated.
Posted By: Bass_Bustin_Texan

Re: Skunked at LMFR - 05/13/15 05:07 PM

I won't know until about lunch Friday. smile

I sure hope it's not like you say.....I've put off my trip now twice.
Posted By: RexW

Re: Skunked at LMFR - 05/13/15 05:48 PM

Originally Posted By: hayes00
I used a small bulb strike indicator part of the time about 2' up from the fly.

Did you try fishing deeper? 2' from the strike indicator is not very deep in moving water.