Texas Fishing Forum

Crappie on the fly

Posted By: TrentonLee

Crappie on the fly - 03/30/15 04:14 PM

This is my first year fly fishing so everything is still new to me. This Friday will be my first time targeting crappie and any tips on what works or advice on what to throw at em would be greatly appreciated. My buddies will be using conventional gear but it's just not as much of a thrill to me anymore since I've started fly fishing.
Posted By: Fishwfly

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 12:33 AM

I have found that they hit pretty much any fly I've chosen if they are sitting on beds. Pretty aggressive. I was fishing tenkara today and caught some on Kebari style flies.
Posted By: formula462

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 01:06 AM

small yellow head with chhartruese small worm body maybe 1 inch and under an indicator..i tore them up last weekend doing that
Posted By: Capt. Brendan

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 01:06 AM

I've never caught a crappie on the fly but maybe try some near deere's.
Posted By: formula462

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 01:19 AM

I don't know if you can see the jig but it is a gold head 1/16 oz pink or yellow worm perch and crappie loved it
Posted By: Robert Hunter

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 03:00 AM

I know barn doors will kill a clouser. Heck there are times they get in the way of my sandbass. Good way to get fried because who eats sandbass lol bolt

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 05:03 AM

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 03:53 PM

Thanks for all the advice guys!!! I've never done bad on Mineral Wells Lake here in my hometown but this is my first time fly fishing for them. Ill be sure and post if I do any good.
Posted By: Jerry Hamon

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 05:15 PM

I would fish bright colored wooly buggers below an indicator just out from structure.
That has worked for me for over 40 years.
Posted By: Capt. Mac

Re: Crappie on the fly - 03/31/15 05:36 PM

Clousers get my vote.