Texas Fishing Forum

Fishing Etiquette Questions

Posted By: DarrellSimpson

Fishing Etiquette Questions - 05/16/16 09:48 AM

Hi. I'm pretty new to fishing with a boat and I would like to be considerate as possible ,I was the guy in the white Lowe that dropped anchor to stay away from everybody at Hybrid point on Sunday .I feel like I'm trying heard cats when the wind is blowing me around a group of boats . I understand about not using the big engine to slip in among other boats fishing a spot , and the same rule when leaving . But I made some mistakes and want to avoid them . On Sunday there were several boats there including the big pontoon boat with the fishing guide . Everyone was catching fish and moving around . when I approached I got a few good hard looks and I'm not sure if its cause I didn't give right of passage or something else maybe . How do you know when to give right of passage when the boats are moving so slowly and randomly , I can tell the obvious stuff like I don't move into the path of a boat that's under power , but I think I started to cut a guy off in a white pontoon by the look I got but he was moving so slow it took me a second to catch on so I could clear out . Anyway thanks for any pointers .
Posted By: slim1

Re: Fishing Etiquette Questions - 05/16/16 11:44 AM

http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbt..._o#Post11604352
Try reading this.
Posted By: RodBreaker CWill

Re: Fishing Etiquette Questions - 05/16/16 11:51 AM

Come within 50 yards of me you will get an ugly look. Within 30 yards and you will probably eat a rattle trap or at least hear some words
Posted By: Rayzor

Re: Fishing Etiquette Questions - 05/16/16 12:57 PM