Texas Fishing Forum

scale and electric filet knife purchase advice ...

Posted By: MBDLAW

scale and electric filet knife purchase advice ... - 05/15/15 04:44 AM

i am sure this has been asked a thousand times, but i received a BPS gift card and want to purchase an electric filet knife and/or a scale - would like to keep around $50 each (ie, i have $100 to spend) - have read reviews, but most from non-Texans (dont trust em' - I dont fish below ice) -would appreciate some Texas advice - I fish LMB, hybrids, sand bass, crappie, catfish, etc. - any help appreciated - thanks!
Posted By: bush hog

Re: scale and electric filet knife purchase advice ... - 05/15/15 12:39 PM

I've been using a Rapala electric fillet knife for a few years now and it's still working. Have to buy new blades now and then but they're not very expensive. I have noticed this Rapala is starting to get hot now after cleaning about 15 or so fish but for the money I have no complaints.
Posted By: bell0347

Re: scale and electric filet knife purchase advice ... - 05/17/15 12:24 PM

Mister Twister electric Fisherman. It's the best one I've found. I've burned up a couple of Anerican Angler knives and one black and decker. I just got a new Mister a Twister last month, the previous one lasted 6 or 7 years. As far as scales go I've had a Berkley electronic scale in my boat for several years. It's been rained on, dropped and cooked in the sun and keeps on working. Seems to be fairly accurate too when compared against our club's weigh in scales.
Posted By: steveiam

Re: scale and electric filet knife purchase advice ... - 05/17/15 12:53 PM

I know this is not bass Pro, but I've used these several years catfishing and found them well worth the money--
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Portable-Electro...=item2ecf4f1661
Posted By: JayRBV

Re: scale and electric filet knife purchase advice ... - 05/20/15 04:36 PM

Save some more money for a scale and Bogagrip.
Fillet knife-