Texas Fishing Forum

Fish finder confusion

Posted By: HumanSeine

Fish finder confusion - 04/05/15 10:25 PM

I am a country boy trying to decide on an affordable fish finder /GPS setup. I just get lost with all the models. The Lowrance website makes my head spin. I would like to talk to someone knowledgable to guide me in electronics purchase. I have been to BPS and the hummingbird crashed three times during a demo.lol. I was not inclined to buy that Hummingbird. Is it possible to get a decent unit for less than 1k?
Posted By: Phoenix_Ed

Re: Fish finder confusion - 04/05/15 11:15 PM

Lots of good units out there for under $1k. I have been using Humminbirds for over 7 years, no problems at all. The new Helix series appears to be a good bang for the buck. I would not base my decision on what happened at BPS, who knows what the guy was doing the day before or who set them up on the display. You will get lots of advice on here! Good luck.
Posted By: JIM SR.

Re: Fish finder confusion - 04/05/15 11:17 PM

look at all the videos you can, youtube is full of videos on fishfinders.
and yes you can get some great units for under 1K..
Posted By: HumanSeine

Re: Fish finder confusion - 04/05/15 11:51 PM

Thanks to all.
Posted By: Muzzlebrake

Re: Fish finder confusion - 04/06/15 12:28 AM

I just bought a humminbird 688ci hd di kvd edition. Spent about $500 after the rebate. It came with a Navionics plus card. I like the screen size better than the Helix model. It has a bit larger viewing area. Have yet to use it on the lake. It was a hard choice between it and the Lowrance Elite-5 CHIRP Fishfinder/Chartplotter as each had some distinct features. I liked to Bird because it had the 3 favorite buttons that made it easier to find the screen view that I would use the most once set. The installation and setup on my boat was easy.