Texas Fishing Forum

Best Alluminum Fishing Boat

Posted By: CJSTEVEN

Best Alluminum Fishing Boat - 01/09/11 07:31 PM

I'm new to fishing and like fishing for bass, sand bass and crappie. The lakes I fish are Lewisville, Ray Roberts and sometimes Moss Lake. My budget is around 15k so Alluminum boats appeal more to me because of the price. What is the best quality brand and where can I get the most bang for the buck.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Posted By: HENDO

Re: Best Alluminum Fishing Boat - 01/09/11 07:36 PM

http://www.xpressboats.com/view/131
Posted By: snmcc

Re: Best Alluminum Fishing Boat - 01/09/11 07:41 PM

I would spend 9/10K on a good used fiberglass boat and use the other 5K for Fishfinders/powerpole/ and trolling motor.
Posted By: Mac Town Fuzz

Re: Best Alluminum Fishing Boat - 01/09/11 07:47 PM

I'm not in the financial position to buy, but shop and wish everyday. While I like the lower operating costs and idea of having a nice aluminum boat, from what I've seen you can get better deals on used fiberglass boats. I'm not sure where your located, but I would watch craigslist, this forum and places like DFW boats. There are plenty of deals to be had if you have the money.
Posted By: RKT

Re: Best Alluminum Fishing Boat - 01/09/11 07:48 PM

I have owned fiberglass and an aluminum bass boat. My aluminum was an Xpress X19 with a 150 hp motor. The Xpress only had a few drawbacks from the glass. The biggest is that the wind will push it a more than a heavier glass boat. The Xpress is not that light of a boat though. The Xpress handled rough water as good as most glass boats. However, it was not a Champion or Charger when it came to rough water. Out of the aluminum I would say Xpress has the best riding and handling boat but SeaArk makes the most durable. Most guys that say don't buy aluminum and get an older glass boat have never owned an Xpress.
Posted By: KingwoodCat

Re: Best Alluminum Fishing Boat - 01/09/11 07:59 PM