Thanks to all #11919417 11/06/16 01:48 PM
M
McKinneyMike Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
M
Hey all,

I am not a new fisherman, but this is my first year to own my own boat. I have fished farm ponds (stock tanks) and small lakes most of my life. I was a co-angler for a time in a bass club back in the 90's too. Started raising a family and stopped fishing with the club.

I bought my boat late in the year to try to get this thing started (I bought it in late June). I started out trying to fish the same way if I were still walking the the banks, beat the shallows. Wrong strategy in 95+ temps, except for the occasional dink here and there.

I am mainly fishing Ray Roberts this season as it's the closest big lake to me and I am trying to learn how to find fish out on the lake, how to use and understand how my boat works and its demeanor. Next is learning how my graph operates, what it is capable of showing me and then hopefully understanding some of that. Then there is the planning, using topo maps to look for places the night or week before, that hopefully will give me the best chance to find fish. I am still waiting to catch anything over 4 lbs this year out on Ray Roberts, but I am gaining more and more confidence every trip out in the boat. My personal best came from a family stock tank and that fish which I could not weigh, but she measured 23 1/2 inches in length and was ready to spawn. My heart was pounding out of my chest. I then caught on my next cast to where I caught her, hooked a 22 1/4" female ready to spawn that also hit my spinnerbait and then finally a 21 incher, also ready to pop made for quite a trifecta and a lifelong memory. All from an area less than 10 SF in size. Never had a day like that since, but hope one day land a DD.