Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Dumb Question: Spey Reels/Combos #11409204 02/12/16 08:19 AM
sdavis24 Offline OP
TFF Guru
OP Offline
TFF Guru
Very beginner question here. What does Spey mean? I feel like I hear about Spey combos, but is it reel or rod specific. From what I've found, which could be wildly wrong, it is a lighter reel with less powerful drag, and you use your hand to slow it. I'm guessing you want to use a more giving rod with these?

Anyone who would like to shine some light on this in very beginner speak, it would be appreciated

Re: Dumb Question: Spey Reels/Combos [Re: sdavis24] #11409210 02/12/16 08:46 AM
M
Mckinneycrappiecatcher Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
M
I have no experience using a Spey rod but what I've learned from watching tv shows and talking to fly shop owners and such up north is that a Spey rod is a very long, stout fly rod designed for making really long casts with big flies on big rivers. Usually you see Spey rods used when people are fishing for salmon and steelhead, probably wouldn't have much if any practical use down here in the south. Reel wise I don't know, but I'm assuming it's just a reel meant to go with one of these massive rods.

Re: Dumb Question: Spey Reels/Combos [Re: sdavis24] #11409256 02/12/16 11:42 AM
R
RexW Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
R
"Spey" has several meanings, but it is usually used in reference to the style of fly fishing that uses rods that are cast using both hands.

Around here, Spey = 2 handed rod.

Fly Fishers International certified casting instructor
TFO Rods pro staff
Re: Dumb Question: Spey Reels/Combos [Re: sdavis24] #11409337 02/12/16 01:04 PM
B
BoPro Offline
Angler
Angler
B
As stated above, long two handed rod using Scandi or Skagit casting styles. I might be one of the only few that use two hand rods down here. If you ever see a guy using a 11ft 2wt doing weird casts on the lower mountain fork, that'll probably be me...