Print Thread
Live Bait and Fly Rods #12243985 05/13/17 03:19 PM
L
Lloyd5 Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
L
Friday the Brazos was shallow, has been shallow for a long time now. This drives the fish into the deeper pockets, and they get hungry because they can't get at the little fish in the shallow water. It makes for good fishing most of the time.

The water was cool to the touch and registered 80f on my thermometer, just right for getting the fish's metabolic rates up. It was a pretty day, light breeze out of the West, no clouds, the water surface sometimes flat as a mirror and occasionally only light rippled. The water felt good as I waded into it, not that shock you have to get over, just a mild coolness. It was intensely quiet, the only sounds were from some birds calling in the distance, sounded like whippoorwills to me, but I'm not a bird expert. Temperature was maybe 78 or so, gorgeous day, just gorgeous.

I couldn't get a bite on any fly I threw. I was using a 5wt 9' rod. I tried half a dozen flys, nothing, nada, nil, zip, cipher.

I put on a night crawler and BAM, within seconds I had a great honking bluegill. 10 inches, barely get my hand around it. Fat.

I re-positioned the hook in the bluegills lip with the point on the outside of the fish, in a part of the lip that is paper thin. I was going after a bass next, the bluegill was bait. I let the bluegill swim around an area that has submerged logs, a place bass like. I watched my floating line move this way and that.

The water above the bluegill swirled, big and hard. Big waves from the spot as my line took off at a pace far faster than the bluegill could have dragged it. A bass, and from the size of the swirl a very big one, had swallowed the big bluegill and was running. I let it run for a few seconds, then set the hook. The hook came out of the bluegill as intended, but did not stick the bass as hoped. Not this time.