Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
gwt11, Kocher007, 903 Angler, Bobby Meager, sheepdog
108666 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 89360
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76797
John175® 68549
JDavis7873® 67391
Derek 🐝 60904
FattyMcButterpants 60904
Tritonman 58184
LoneStarSon® 54682
SkeeterRonnie 53537
facebook
Forum Stats
108666 Members
61 Forums
830340 Topics
12066046 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 3 of 104 < 1 2 3 4 5 ... 103 104 >
Topic Options
#6362542 - 07/04/11 01:09 AM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bobby Feazel]
HappyHooker Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/05/05
Posts: 353
Loc: Pasadena, Texas
Thanks Bobby. I was confused. I thought the two worked together and the lss-1 module interpreted the data and created an image. Man I wish I could get my images looking that good. I can't see pilings from docks and and stumps off to the side of the boat but when I go under a bridge the pilings from it show up clear.
_________________________

Top
#6370224 - 07/06/11 01:41 PM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter]
bassndad Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/15/09
Posts: 29
Thinking about buying an HDS with structure scan, I currently have a lowrance 520 at the bow and 27c at console linked together. Would move 27c to bow and install hds unit at console with ssi. So questions are:

1) Can i use the current 83/200 transducer(blue connectors) in my bilge for the hds?
2) What type of connectivity or trading/sharing of info can occur between the hds unit and 27c?
3) Is it worth the price to jump from a bundled hds7 with ssi and purchase the hds 8 and then purchase the seperate ssi unit?

Thanks

Top
#6374284 - 07/07/11 01:42 PM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: bassndad]
Txdeuce Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/25/07
Posts: 875
Loc: Rockport, TX
1) Can i use the current 83/200 transducer(blue connectors) in my bilge for the hds?

Yes

2) What type of connectivity or trading/sharing of info can occur between the hds unit and 27c?

Good question....I know for sure that you can share waypoints

3) Is it worth the price to jump from a bundled hds7 with ssi and purchase the hds 8 and then purchase the seperate ssi unit?

You can purchase the HDS 7 and the LSS-1 cheaper as a bundle. If you are looking to have a second HDS unit, you will not need to purchase an additional LSS-1. The LSS-1 easily networks via ethernet with up to three HDS devices.

Hope this helps




Edited by John Vogt (07/07/11 01:48 PM)

Top
#6380263 - 07/09/11 07:30 AM Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Txdeuce]
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/18/07
Posts: 227
Loc: Toledo Bend
This big pile of concrete and steel is the remnants of the old Pendelton Harbor bridge. I couldn't find much remaining of the main steel span but there was an additional 1500 feet like shown in the picture.

_________________________

GPS LAKE MAPS

Top
#6386665 - 07/11/11 12:13 PM Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Bobby Feazel]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3258
Loc: Tulsa, OK
Mike Iaconelli Lake Guntersville Roadbed. You tube video

http://youtu.be/pycTWTjoETw
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
#6388371 - 07/11/11 05:57 PM Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Jason Gilstrap]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 7025
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Hey Jason I bought a 7 bundle. Will the gauges (you know, the tach, fuel, etc.) work with a 99 Yamaha Vmax? If so where can I buy the cables?

Top
#6388448 - 07/11/11 06:16 PM Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: grout-scout]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3258
Loc: Tulsa, OK
I would call Lowrance CS dept for that question. If so this part #..

Yamaha Engine Interface Cable - Red Part # 120-37 $79.95
Interface between a Yamaha engine and NMEA network to display engine data. Comes with a T connector. For use with red NMEA network.

Works with: NMEA 2000 Compliant Units

http://www.lei-extras.com/store/search.asp?SearchType=Category&Category=LowranceNET+Red
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
#6388591 - 07/11/11 06:58 PM Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: Jason Gilstrap]
HappyHooker Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/05/05
Posts: 353
Loc: Pasadena, Texas
Originally Posted By: Jason Gilstrap
Mike Iaconelli Lake Guntersville Roadbed. You tube video

http://youtu.be/pycTWTjoETw


Thanks For the video Jason. Very informative
_________________________

Top
#6412547 - 07/18/11 02:32 PM Re: Toledo Bend bridge #3 [Re: HappyHooker]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3258
Loc: Tulsa, OK
Some posted this on Lowrance Facebook and I would like to share this awesome screen shot.




to see a bigger picture go to Lowrance FaceBook page.
https://www.facebook.com/Lowrance
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
#6413840 - 07/18/11 07:33 PM Couple of pics. [Re: jsplinter]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 7025
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Not too many pics on here so I'll add a few for the fellas thinking about buying a new unit. The Lowrance is a plug and play unit with the di/si, there is no adjusting that has to be done to get good pics, just turn it on & go. The other brand requires fine tuning to get clear pics. (That's for the guys researching the units & trying to decide on a brand.)

Whats under your boat?


Down deep!


Rockpile with side imaging.


Same rockpile downscan.


Roadbed while lake was being built?


Same roadbed with the downscan and the thermocline..



Edited by grout-scout (07/18/11 08:56 PM)

Top
#6442620 - 07/26/11 10:46 AM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: jsplinter]
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/18/07
Posts: 227
Loc: Toledo Bend
Side scan of feeding cormorants.


Down scan of cormorants above. Look at the school of fish they are going after.

_________________________

GPS LAKE MAPS

Top
#6471428 - 08/02/11 06:46 PM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bobby Feazel]
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Registered: 07/03/03
Posts: 3258
Loc: Tulsa, OK
The GPS refresh rates on Lowrance HDS units come from the factory with a default “auto” setting. This auto setting adjusts the GPS refresh rate based on your speed. Some settings work pretty well from the factory, but this is not one of them. If you’re speeding down the lake, the refresh rate is fast. If you’re idling slowly down a ledge, the refresh rate is very slow and does not update the micro movements. This causes serious update delays… causing your unit to live in the past. If precise boat positioning is important to you — and it should be — you want real time updates.

The best way to get around these slow refresh rates is by going into the “Waypoints, Routes, and Trails menu.

1) Press “Page”

2) Press the right arrow on the cursor pad to scroll over to “Waypoints, Routes and Trails”

3) Use the arrows to select “trails” and hit the “menu” button.

4) Use the cursor pad to highlight settings, then press the enter button

5) Change the “logging type” to “Time”

6) Finally, set the time to “1 sec”. Press close and exit out.
_________________________
Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com

Top
#6472119 - 08/02/11 09:30 PM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Jason Gilstrap]
blueball Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/30/10
Posts: 181
Loc: camden,tn
thanks for the tip jason,mine were on auto,i planned on buying the 4000 antenna when i bought my 2 hds-7 and 2 lss-1 units,but am very pleased with the internal.

Top
#6473718 - 08/03/11 10:46 AM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: blueball]
RudyDep Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/15/10
Posts: 2214
Loc: San Antonio
Thanks Jason, i'll check/change that setting on both of mine this evening! Totally unaware of this! Thanks for the help with my LSS-1. I changed out the power cable and everything is working fine. You're awsome!


Edited by RudyDep (08/03/11 11:26 AM)
_________________________
http://thetacklesmith.com
http://www.lakefalconfishing.com
http://austin.trackerboatingcenter.com
http://www.jigs4bass.com
http://www.primarytackle.com
http://www.grandebass.com/

"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference. The MARINES don't have that problem."
President Ronald Reagan 1985

Top
#6478047 - 08/04/11 11:00 AM Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: RudyDep]
RudyDep Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/15/10
Posts: 2214
Loc: San Antonio
Can you tell me how to input gps coordinates directly into the HDS7? I have someone that is willing to share some waypoints with me and is giving me the coordinates. Ill need to input them so I can find some fish!!!


Edited by RudyDep (08/04/11 11:02 AM)
_________________________
http://thetacklesmith.com
http://www.lakefalconfishing.com
http://austin.trackerboatingcenter.com
http://www.jigs4bass.com
http://www.primarytackle.com
http://www.grandebass.com/

"Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference. The MARINES don't have that problem."
President Ronald Reagan 1985

Top
Page 3 of 104 < 1 2 3 4 5 ... 103 104 >



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide