Forums59
Topics1,042,378
Posts14,016,811
Members144,281
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Freshwater prawns -- Lake Corpus Christi, Buffalo Bayou #4655405 03/25/10 09:16 PM
G
genghisprawn Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
G
Hey, everyone.

I'm an undergraduate student who's been conducting research on genetic relationships in a group of freshwater prawns (Macrobrachium). This group is mostly tropical, but Texas is fortunate enough to have at least four native species.

I'm in Boston right now, but I'll be heading down to Texas in mid-May/early June to investigate two really interesting sites: (1) Lake Corpus Christi and (2) Buffalo Bayou, hopefully collecting some tissue samples for DNA analysis.

If you've ever run into freshwater prawns -- either here or anywhere else in Texas, it'd be great to hear from you.

(1) The fact that prawns are occurring upstream of the dam at Lake Corpus Christi is pretty surprising, since their young are believed to require brackish water for development. In other words, large dams are expected to dramatically interrupt their life cycles and rule out the existence of populations in artificial impoundments. But in Corpus Christi, apparently, anglers are continuing to catch these critters -- something strange is going on.

(2) Based on photos I've seen of the Buffalo Bayou prawns, it's clear that at least some of them belong to an undocumented non-indigenous species -- Malaysian prawns (Macrobrachium rosenbergii) which presumably escaped from aquaculture. This would be the first record of feral populations in Texas.

Both of these have important fisheries management implications, so I'd appreciate any reports or tips.

Last edited by genghisprawn; 03/25/10 09:19 PM.
Re: Freshwater prawns -- Lake Corpus Christi, Buffalo Bayou [Re: genghisprawn] #4655515 03/25/10 09:31 PM
B
BuddyH Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
B
I am interested in the fresh water prawns on Lake Corpus Christi.